Family Portraits (and a Petition)

While I was having fun with my new iPhone, I came across the Hubba Hubba app that so accurately captured the finest features of my family. My mom, a.k.a. Goody Two-Shoes, thinks Daddy-O looks like Saddam Hussein, but I think she’s crazy because Daddy-O’s got a heart of gold. “Sweet Mama” (that’s me) doesn’t quite fit my image, but that’s because it takes time to grow into the title and I’m still young! By the way, don’t be fooled by Goody Two-Shoes’ name folks. Once she finds out I posted that photo  online for the world to see, she’s going to pick that feather from her hat and shove it up who-knows-where! No, no, I was just joshin’. She wouldn’t do that. I’m an only child! Anyway, that’s my family in a nutshell!

Another thing now that I have your attention (hopefully), while I’m here downloading useless (but fun) apps on my iphone, tens of thousands of other Chinese people are suffering from exposure to toxic chemicals, losing their hands, and even attempting suicide from the horrible working conditions of Apple, Inc. factories. Like most people I’m sure, I was totally unaware of this fact, and to be honest, the thought to ask where my iPhone and Mac laptop came from didn’t even occur to me.  While the American version of the iPhone might say “Designed by Apple in California, Assembled in China” on the back, my Chinese version somehow forgot the “Assembled in China” part. Oops. How clever! The Chinese 1% doesn’t want anything Made in China. They want Made in America/Italy/France/Japan/Anywhere-but-China, and Steve Jobs and gang knew just this!

Now, I’m not asking anybody to discard their iPhones and iPads–I’m certainly not. What I’m suggesting, and it’s not a lot for you to do, is to click here and sign the petition to “Apple: to protect workers making iPhones in Chinese factories”. As you may have seen in the news, Foxconn, one of Apple’s main suppliers has already increased their workers’ salaries (probably to the salary it should’ve been in the first place) showing some success in the case. Apple is obviously not the only corporation that exploits its workers. However, with Apple being one of the most powerful industries in the world, it should do more–and quickly–to demand safe working and living conditions and fair wages.

I was taxed up-the-butt for this darned ol’ thing. That extra cash should go straight to the pockets of the overworked factory laborers, not California.

The Petition: https://www.change.org/petitions/apple-ceo-tim-cook-protect-workers-making-iphones-in-chinese-factories


19 Comments on “Family Portraits (and a Petition)”

  1. hahaha… hey, sweet mama… you’re wonderful :-)

  2. Sweet mama it can work, kinda saucy too. you got me thinking thanks for letting me know bout the petition

  3. b r says:

    This is such a cute app.

    But yes–although I used to be a big Apple fan in the old days due to my chosen career path (design, editing, video, etc.)…their industrial practices aren’t consistent with my beliefs. I chose not to buy another Apple product after my last MacBook Pro.

    …although that didn’t stop me from building my own system with the Mac OS on it :P

    -b

    • Emily He says:

      Oh cool! You built your own system??? Well if I had those skills I may choose not to buy Apple, but since I don’t….I still love using their products. Now it would be awesome if they could just make fair wages and safe/good working conditions for their factory workers. I think it’s great that they have their factories here because it DOES supply a great amount of employment, but like most big guys, they take advantage of people’s desperation and that’s not cool. Anywho, thanks B for stopping by! :)

  4. SaptarshiC says:

    Saddam Hussein, eh? I don’t think he used to wear that thing on his head, or did he? Hmm..

    Anyway, the apple thing was mentioned on Stephen Colbert and also on Jon Stewart’s shows a few times. They mocked the s**t out of the factories and the working conditions. Which probably wasn’t fun for Apple.

    • Emily He says:

      I don’t think Hussein wore that hat either.. At leat not in public! Yeah the Apple scandal has been around town but I bet it’s (ignored) news in China, I mean of course the Chinese who can afford to but apple products. I hope apple does something quick or I’m going to lead a band of factory workers to turn up Steve jobs’ grave! Jut kidding. I would hate to disturb the dead and I don’t have that Kind of power anyway… But I do hope Cook the new guy will act up.

  5. Tamar Dart says:

    signed. great post. I can’t tell you how many suicide stories i’ve been hearing about lately.. terribly depressing. I can however separate the depressing from the fun, and that’s a fun app right

    • Emily He says:

      Yay, and thanks! That really is terribly depressing that you’ve been hearing about so many suicides…it sucks so much because it’s preventable, and it hurts the people around them. I’m glad you can separate fun from sad, though. Keeps ya sane in this crazy world!!

  6. mooselicker says:

    This makes me want an iPhone for this one reason.

    You’ve been tagged sucka!

    http://mooselicker.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/tags/

  7. echwaluphotography says:

    I love Daddy’s…He pulled it off…A fair photocopy of Saddam Hussein!

  8. Woody says:

    you and your mom look so alike!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 975 other followers