Back in the Motherland

After my “I lost my passport” fiasco which required Maria (my life-saving roommate) to drive me to Moishe’s self-storage where we upturned all of my belongings in a mad search for a silly blue book capable of taking me all over the world only to be found in the middle drawer of my pretty yellow dresser at home, I finally said goodbye to New York (I intended to give it one more good look from the plane, but I fell asleep).

2 meals (ONLY 2 and no snacks?!) and 13.5 hours later, I was in Beijing and headed for a Szechuan restaurant. It still hasn’t quite hit me that I’m not in Brooklyn anymore and that I won’t be there for a while. Plus, I’ll be living with my mom after 6 years of pure independence, but there are some perks in being here. So far these include but certainly are not limited to:

1) My mom’s awesome telephone. If you receive a call from me, it’ll be from this precious machine.

Hello Kitty Communications, Inc.

2) McDonald’s right down the block. Yup, a major guilty pleasure but the Spicy Crispy Chicken Sandwich is to die for and I’ll have you know unavailable in America! And look, they even have curly fries!

meal: curly fries, spicy crispy chicken sandwich, lychee juice.

and 3) our house pet, Randy!

Randy

Isn't he adorable?

In and around his "natural" habitat.

So far so good.

8 Comments on “Back in the Motherland”

  1. Caroline says:

    I miss you! I’m glad you got there Safely. Keep posting and follow me at http://www.cofrc.wordpress.com

    Love ya girl,
    Carline

  2. Kelly Murphy says:

    We’re getting a matching Hello Kitty phone to call you from.

  3. sara says:

    OMG Emily I love you!- I miss you and Brooklyn misses you too. Keep posting on Facebook so that I can follow!
    Love Sasa

  4. Maria Apuzzo says:

    Love it!!!! Can’t wait to visit in Spring. I love you and miss you. Your blog is awesome and I will keep up with it.

  5. Zach says:

    Emily,

    This is Zach Valenta, Kelly’s friend. I will be back to China in a few weeks; where do you live? I’m writing here because I don’t know if you have a VPN to get through to Facebook. Then again, you might need a VPN for Word Press.

    Anyways, best of luck and hope you live in DongBei!

    Zach

    • E. He says:

      Hi Zach! I remember you!! I’m in Beijing, so I guess we’re kind of close! I don’t have access to facebook from my internet connection (I used a friend’s computer!) I’m figuring it out though so I can access the world wide web the way it was intended. Let me know if you plan on visiting Beijing, I’d love to get together! The more friends the merrier. Thanks for the message and good luck to you, too!

      Emily (signing off because my desk is infested with ants)

  6. maria says:

    The U.S. needs to get down with McDonalds curly fries!!! they look yummy.

  7. E. He says:

    THANKS FOR READING!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE YOU ALL!!! I HOPE YOU KEEP READING!!!


Leave a Reply

