Explosions in the Sky

I was awoken by thunderous explosions outside my window setting off car alarms and heart attacks. That was 8:30 this morning. It is now 9:45 and they are still intermittently exploding. It wasn’t a terrorist attack, nor was it a revolution unleashing, but rather fireworks (not the pretty kind). Maybe there is a holiday I’m unaware of, like the pre-celebration of Chinese National Day on Oct. 1st? But at 8:30 on a Sunday morning?!?! On the 25th of September? Talk about disrespect… or maybe I’m just a late sleeper. Either way, I’d like to wake up and enjoy my breakfast of freshly wrapped wonton soup in peace, please, if that’s not too much to ask. Jeeeeeez.

I miss the days when I awoke to the yodeling of farmers riding around on their bicycles selling eggs and warm dough (“man tou”). As a child, I used to hate that too, but it definitely beats waking up hovered in my blanket, sweating and thinking for certain I was going to die. It is now 9:56 a.m. and my heart is still pounding, and there are still explosions going off in the distance. Good morning, China!

(en.beijing2008.cn/) These are definitely not the fireworks I'm talking about.

One Comment on “Explosions in the Sky”

  1. […] nice from a distance, or on the 4th of July which happens only once a year. But these incessant explosions resonate through my neighborhood–and the entire country–and resemble sounds of what I […]


Leave a Reply

