Lettuce Rejoice for Winter!

Today is “Lidong,” the beginning of winter on the lunar calendar. Funny because it was mighty warm today, though the sun did go down around 5 pm.

 

The view at work was clear because it drizzled early this morning. Normally, my view looks like this:

Winter is lovely, but the sun goes down too early making the last stretch of work absolute torture.

For my friends who care, this is what my office looks like:

Feel my pain.

And for those same friends, can you picture me in one of those slots under the translucent lighting??! I can barely sit still in front of a TV in a cozy living room!

I digress.

Lidong… yes, on Lidong Chinese people traditionally eat dumplings. But who follows traditions anymore? Instead, I came home to a MOUND of surprise.

"Flash" photos on my camera come out terribly. My sincerest apologies for your visual displeasure!

My neighborhood was handing out free LETTUCE! Insecticide-free!  Each apartment unit can carry home 2 bags. My mom and I hate turning down free things, so in the elevator we went with our share.

Why, you might ask, is our neighborhood distributing lettuce to its residents? It’s because a nearby farm yielded way more lettuce than they could sell (one gigantic head of lettuce at the market costs .90 Yuan, which is about a $0.16, so basically it’s worth nothing). More significantly, however,  it’s because contractors bought the land and need to clear it for apartment complexes that will be sold at exorbitant rates.

Anyhow, this lettuce is going to last all winter long. I foresee a mountain of dumplings, endless bowls of chicken soup and maybe even kimchi (which is Korean!) in the upcoming months. Too bad I don’t have rabbits or turtles to share my treasure with.

Sleep tight, sweet lettuceheads.

 

8 Comments on “Lettuce Rejoice for Winter!”

  1. Alan says:

    Emily
    Love the views from the office, but what truly disturbs me, and I am not being insulting, is the bags of lettuce look like something from a horror movie come alive, and slithering back to the apartment!
    Seriously, it sounds like a pleasent area you reside in, I would love to be given free Chinese lettuce as the British versions are so bland, except when you make Pea & Lettuce soup……. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    • E. He says:

      Great, now I’m going to have nightmares of heads of lettuce crawling up the stairs to attack me in my sleep! I can see the headlines now, “Vengeance of the Free Lettuce; The Resurgence of Exploited Greens!”

      • Hang on a mo, I didn’t sleep a wink last night as your post was burned in my brain. All I could could do was keep watch all night for the rampaging green hoardes descending on London to eat me as I slept!

  2. Ya'ara says:

    How do you store it for that long??

  3. mooselicker says:

    Free lettuce???? I know it’s not much, but I don’t think I’ve ever gotten anything for free from my neighborhood. Everyone just shouts at each other and frown when I say hello.

  4. […] a Chinese tradition behind all that free lettuce  (mentioned in yesterday’s post) that I learned today; when China was still very poor, […]


Leave a Reply

