My First Blogging Awards!

This post is long overdue, but it is never too late to thank others. So, THANK YOU Antonio Occulto, artist extraordinaire, for giving me the Liebster Award and the Versatile Blogger Award!!

Liebster is a German word that means favorite or dearest, and the award is given to bloggers with 200 or less followers.

Here are a few rules that come with the acceptance of this award:

  • Thank  the blogger who gave you the award  (which goes without saying!), and link back to their site
  • Pass the award on to five other bloggers; however, they must have less than or exactly 200 followers
  • Let every nominee know that they have been given the award by posting a comment on their blog
  • Display the award on your blog

Here goes!

1) Mooselicker — He cracks me up every time, no matter how inappropriate.

2) Alan Cook Photography — One of my most loyal blog readers and a fantastic photographer!

3) A Single Year — A new favorite of mine. She documents each day in Japan in 100 words or less; perfect for my short attention span.

4) A Boy with Shoes — A novice photographer seeking advice from other photographers. He documents parts of nature that I rarely see. And, I think he was my first WordPress buddy.

5) Creativity Aroused — Another blog I just started following for the beautiful photographs and inspiring haikus.

These are the rules for the Versatile Blog Awards:

  • Nominate 15 fellow bloggers.
  • Inform the bloggers of their nomination.
  • Share 7 random things about yourself.
  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Add the Versatile Blog Award logo on your blog post.

1. John Fanai

2. Mimo Khair

3. The Simple Life of a Country Man’s Wife

4. My Neon Sign Lullaby

5. Eric Murtaugh 

6. She Will Walk

7. Have a Dream

8.  World Music 

9.  A Single Year

10. Lifevesting

11.Curious Cat On The Run From Real Life

12. The Art of an Improbable Life

13. The Unknowledge Tree

14. Creativity Aroused

15. Mooselicker

Now, the 7 random facts about yours truly:

1. I can’t sit still, unless I’m blogging.

2. I’m a sucker for romantic comedies and other mediocre films.

3. I’m a hopeless romantic, which might explain my taste in movies.

4. I’m allergic to cats, dust mites, pollen, not-so-fresh shellfish, soy milk, and sometimes apples and eggplants. My allergies fluctuate.

5. I sleep on my stomach, but I’m trying to find a new comfortable sleeping position because I hear it’s bad for women to sleep on their stomachs. It does something to your womanly parts.

6. I’m a first generation American in my family.

7. Once I find a hairstyle I’m comfortable with–currently it’s a messy bun, with bangs and two streaks of blonde–I’ll stick with it for YEARS, no matter how hard you try to urge me to change my look.

32 Comments on “My First Blogging Awards!”

  1. As I will accept this award, do I have to wear something smart and do a Gwenyth Paltrow in order to accept it?
    I would like to thank Emily He in recognition of being a wonderfully articulate and deeply humerous with her tales of life on the other side of the world (this applies to me only) and generally giving me enthusiasm for the way of the Blog……
    Yes, I too get a bit a bit right on booze and Blog…. Oh my!
    You are fab Emily!

    Alan

  2. Emily, congratulations on the Liebster and Versatile Blogger Award! I can see from your writing why you have been nominated. Really great stuff!

    Thank you for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger. As this is the third time I’ve been nominated for it, I don’t want to be greedy. Instead, I will say thank you for recognizing my blog, and gratefully put your compliment in my big pocket of gratitude. 🙂

  3. It’s nice to get to know you more. 🙂

    Thank you.

  4. michaeljones909 says:

    Hey Emily …I’ve been reading your blog for ages but never commented,but today i’d just like to say well done on your award…
    China’s such an interesting place and your post’s have been a great mix of interesting and funny your award is much deserved…

    Have a great christmas! 🙂

    • Emily He says:

      THANKS!!! I saw that you’ve been following my blog since I started, but there is no link to yours!!! I’ve been so curious!! Anyway, thanks for being a fan, and you have a great christmas as well!!

      Please let me know where I can find your blog (if you have one)!

  5. Michael says:

    Congratulations and Warmest Wishes, Emily. You know, you are simply wonderful and I think you deserve the awards. Thanks for the nomination and keep excelling.

  6. Thank you for sharing the award with me! Now, how do you sleep on your stomach!? My back would be killing in the morning. If I read it correctly, you should be fine unless you are pregnant. I’m not too sure. Have a very wonderful week!

    • Emily He says:

      You’re welcome! Thanks for sharing South Dakota, a state that has always been off my radar until now, with me! I sleep on my stomach with my neck twisted all night. I think it is an old Chinese wives tale that sleeping on your stomach is bad for women.. I’ll have to double check. 🙂

  7. […] fabulous Emily over at GroundingMyRoots (https://groundingmyroots.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/my-first-blogging-awards/) nominated me for a Versatile Blogger Award! Thank you so […]

  8. Congrats, Emily! You deserve these!

    This is definitely pushing me towards migrating Cartas de Lejos over to WordPress–you guys have such a great community going on over here!

    Love the blog and happy holidays!
    H

  9. Fergiemoto says:

    Congratulations on your awards!! That’s awesome! And wow, thank you so much for nominating me on both awards. That is sooooooo nice of you and I appreciate it very much!

  10. Congrats on the nominations and thanks for the nomination.

  11. mooselicker says:

    Congrats and thank you! A long overdue award for a great blogger.

    You’re so neurotic haha I love it

    • Emily He says:

      Nobody has ever said I was neurotic, but actually, I think that is the perfect word to describe me! I am a bit neurotic–in the best sense of course. Thanks for the insight 🙂 Now go write something knee-slapping hilarious!

  12. Shiv says:

    Dude thank you thank you! It’s my first blogging award :’) (Sorry for the late response. I’m going away on vacation tomorrow and I’ve been trying to get a lot of stuff done.) I wholeheartedly accept!

  13. […] think Emily He is simply amazing; she’s passionate and has heart&soul. I was honoured when she gave me […]

  14. […] I think Emily He is simply amazing; she’s passionate and has heart&soul. I was honoured when she gave me […]

  15. […] December 23, 2011 tags: chinese on christmas day, holiday spirit, lists I think Emily He is simply amazing; she’s passionate and has heart&soul. I was honoured when she gave me […]

  16. isabellart says:

    Big congrats ! your blog is wonderful 🙂

  17. […] got the versitile award from the daily norm, meg traveling, and grounding my roots. I find it entirely shocking when somebody actually wants to mention my blog. I am still […]


Leave a Reply

