Ode to Pandas

Dearest pandas

you big fat lazy beasts

cloaked in heavy suits of black and white

who hang from tree limbs like dislocated joints

who chew on bamboo like its animal flesh

who mosey around because thats your life

to represent your country because you’re its gem

protected and pampered like China’s sons

as others toil the earth and starve

but that’s not your concern

and we love you regardless

because we can.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

If I could choose what to be in my next life, and this isn’t it already, I would be a panda bear. Why? Because they live the simple life: eat, sleep and play. They have little to worry about because everything is taken care of for them. They are like little princes, pampered from head to toe (although they could use a bath). They roll around in the food that they eat (did you know that they were carnivores centuries ago??). They get to hang with their homies all day, chewin’ on bamboo, hangin’ from trees, rollin’ down hills, spreadin’ out under the sun. They’re also incredibly lazy without a worry or care in the world. Some may argue that they lead unfortunate lives, trapped and exploited, but they are becoming extinct. And therefore need human protection! Anyway, if I could be a panda who didn’t know any better than the life I was living, I would be happy camper.

I fell in love with these great balls of fur when I visited them at the Giant Panda Breeding Research Base in Chengdu (I’ll tell you more about this trip later). Here are some photos for you to see so you can fall in love with them too. (Notice that the pandas and I have the same dark circles around our eyes..it’s a clear sign of our souls’ connection.)



Are they not just the most lovable, huggable, adorable living things on this planet?!

Finally, remember:

13 Comments on “Ode to Pandas”

  1. mooselicker says:

    Pandas are so awesome! They look so cute and cuddly. I don’t even consider them bears. Bears are mean.

    Is there any animal that people in China wish they had like how us Americans love Pandas? We’ve got lots of deer. Want to trade some deer for pandas?

    • Emily He says:

      Oh my god, deer would die so quickly in this country. They would be run over in no time. Also, we’d probably eat them (not that Americans don’t do that). I don’t think we want other animals…we treasure our pandas because NOBODY else has them 🙂 We’re special. They’re special. OH MAN I love them.

  2. wonderful post, Emily. You are Great!

  3. SaptarshiC says:

    The panda in the header looks like it’s smokin’ a pipe.

  4. there is a dark side to pandas and loving them:

  5. Cafe23 says:

    Hahaha. Omg they are so adorable!! Something about them reminds me of people, dunno why 🙂

  6. Shiv says:

    I loved your poem and i squealed at your pictures! Plz mail me one? a little one is fine


Leave a Reply

